Barrow, Alaska (June 5, 2018) – Ukpeaġvik Iñupiat Corporation (UIC) held its 45th Annual Meeting of Shareholders on Saturday, June 2, 2018 in Barrow, Alaska.  The results of the election include the top three Directors in order of votes received:

New Board of Directors Class of 2021          Total Votes

Delbert J. Rexford                                                76,365
Lloyd Kanayurak                                                  38,760
Ned T. Arey Sr.                                                     34,762

Shareholder Proposal: Changing Residence Requirements for Directors

UIC shareholders were asked to vote on amending UIC’s Bylaws to establish seven (7) local seats (to be filled by shareholders residing in Barrow) and two (2) at-large seats (to be filled by shareholders residing anywhere, including outside of Barrow) on the Board of Directors.  This proposal failed.

In addition, the following are the results of the re-organization meeting held Monday, June 4, 2018 in Barrow, Alaska.

Chairman:                   Price E. Brower
Vice Chair:                   Josiah Patkotak
President:                    Delbert J. Rexford
Vice President:          Lloyd Kanayurak
Treasurer:                   Beverly J. Shontz Eliason
Corp. Secretary:       Richard Ungarook Sr.
Director:                      Mary Jane Ahvakana-Lang
Director:                      Anthony E. Edwardsen
Director:                      Ned T. Arey, Sr.

UIC Shareholders can request a copy of the Certified Election Results from the UIC Stock Department.  Please visit our offices in Barrow or call UIC at (907) 852-4460.